Easy Barbecue Potato Chip Brownies

IMG_1798

Technicality: Easy

Taste: A mesquite yet sweet chocolate party in your mouth.

Time: 35mins

One day while shopping in Whole Foods upon checkout I stumbled upon what I thought was so ingenious. A company by the name of Wild Ophelia  http://www.wildophelia.com/  they make very unique chocolate bars.  I purchased their Smokehouse bbq potato chips dark chocolate bar and decided to take their idea a step further and experiment with how bbq potato chips would taste within a dessert such as brownies.  I myself found it to be quite nostalgic but definitely not for the faint of hearts. You pretty much have to have an open mind and acquired taste for this dessert. But if your someone who likes chocolate and bacon together you will like this or you just might like it anyway. I’d like to also note this was my 1st time making it with the Betty Crocker Original Supreme Brownie mix (best brownies in a box if you ask me) I previously boozed up my recipe by making homemade Chocolate Rogue Stout beer brownies (see picture below) which were just as good only much much richer than the Betty Crocker brownie mix & oh so boozy well maybe just a little lol.  Oh and I almost forgot to mention the Wild Ophelia chocolate bar is must try. I will be curious to try the rest of their line of chocolate bars.

IMG_1713

Screen shot 2013-07-27 at 5.08.47 PM

Barbecue Potato Chip Brownies Recipe

  • 1 box Betty Crocker Brownie Mix
  • 1 cup of barbecue chips
  • 1 cup of mini chocolate chips

Directions:

Follow instructions on box to mix all ingredients together. Once mixed together add in 1 cup of mini chocolate chips this is just my preference you can choose to add them or not. I myself actually prefer espresso chips in my brownies.  Much like the ones Starbucks used to make.

Once everything is all mixed place brownie batter in baking dish and add bbq chips into batter. When I made my other Stout brownies with the bbq chips I placed the bbq chips on top of the batter and noticed they were a lot crunchier as opposed to adding the chips within the batter. It’s personal preference on this one as well. I just like biting into the crunch all while being surrounded by soft ooey gooeyness.

Follow baking times for baking pan size according to recommendations on box.

bbq stout

Leave a Reply

